About Us History Organization President Executive Office & Senior Management Business Affairs Education & Community Engagement Publications, Internal Reports, & White Papers Geodetic Data Services Geodetic Infrastructure UNAVCO Logo & Usage Policies


UNAVCO was created in 1984 in response to the challenge of applying GPS to geosciences. At that time it was called the University NAVSTAR Consortium (UNAVCO). At its inception, UNAVCO was housed within the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES) at the University of Colorado. In 1992, UNAVCO moved under the umbrella of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR). In 2001, UNAVCO, Inc. incorporated as an independent, non-profit, [501(c)(3)] corporation. For one and a half years, between April 2001 and September 2003, UCAR/UNAVCO and UNAVCO, Inc. both existed. In October 2003, funding for UCAR/UNAVCO ended and the staff and equipment of UCAR/UNAVCO moved to UNAVCO, Inc. The objective of this change was to provide the UNAVCO community with control over UNAVCO resources and activities with no additional cost to the community. UNAVCO, Inc. adopted the former acronym as its official name when it incorporated.

1 Sep 1984 University NAVSTAR Consortium (UNAVCO) formed under auspices of Cooperative Institute
   for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES) at the University of Colorado, Boulder

  Funded by National Science Foundation:
     Roger Bilham & Randolph Ware, Co-PIs

  Founding Universities:
     University of Colorado
     Columbia University, Lamont Doherty Geological Observatory
     University of Texas at Austin
     California Institute of Technology
     Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  Associated Investigators:
     Jason Morgan, Peter Bender, Richard O'Connell, Brad Hager, Robert Reilinger, John Beavan,
     Barry Raleigh, Chris Scholz, Lynn Sykes, Clarence Allen, Don Anderson, Hiroo Kanamori,
     Larry Slater, James Whitcomb, Max Wyss, Judah Levine, James Faller, Byron Tapley,
     Adam Dziewonski, Peter Molnar, Nafi Toksoz, Tracy Johnson, Kerry Sieh
1984 - 1991 Randolph Ware, Program & Facility Director
1988 Steering Committee — Duncan Agnew, Brad Hager, David Jackson, Richard O'Connell, Rob Reilinger,
Bob Schutz, Randolph Ware
1989 - 1994 Richard O'Connell, Chair, Steering Committee
1991 Myron McCallum, Acting Facility Manager
1991 Steering Committee — Duncan Agnew, John Beavan, David Jackson, Richard O'Connell,
Rob Reilinger, Randolph Ware
1 Oct 1991 UNAVCO Facility administratively under University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)
1991 - 1993 James Stowell, Facility Manager
1994 - 2002 Wayne Shiver, Facility Manager
1995 Major community purchase of GPS equipment under the NSF Academic Resesarch Infrastructure (ARI) program.
1995 - 1998 Robin Bell, Chair, Steering Committee
1998 - 1999 Jeffrey Freymueller, Chair, Steering Committee
1998 - 1999 Seth Stein, Science Director
1999 - 2000 James Davis, Chair, Steering Committee
1999 - 2000 Tom Herring, Science Director
2000 - 2001 Geoff Blewitt, Chair, Steering Committee
2002 - 2003 Chuck Meertens, UCAR/UNAVCO Facility Manager
1 Oct 2003 UCAR/UNAVCO disbanded
24 Apr 2001 UNAVCO, Inc. created as an independent, Colorado non-profit, 501[(c)(3)] corporation
2001 - 2002 James Davis, Founding President, UNAVCO, Inc.
2002 - 2003 Geoff Blewitt, Chair, Board of Directors
1 Oct 2002 UNAVCO, Inc. office opened for business in Boulder, CO
2002 - 2007 William Prescott, President
2002 - 2003 Wayne Shiver, Executive Director
15 July 2003 EarthScope/Plate Boundary Observatory (PBO), an NSF MREFC
(Major Research Equipment Facility Construction) project is initiated
1 Oct 2003 Many staff members from UCAR/UNAVCO moved to UNAVCO, Inc.
2003 - 2011 Chuck Meertens, UNAVCO Facility Manager, Program Director
2003 - 2011 Mike Jackson, PBO Director
2004 - 2005 Paul Silver, Chair, Board of Directors
2004 UNAVCO Formal Education and Outreach (E&O) Program initiated
2004 - 2010 Susan Eriksson, E&O Director
2006 - 2007 Eric Calais, Chair, Board of Directors
2007 - 2008 Chuck Meertens, Interim President
2008 Sridhar Anandakrishnan, Chair, Board of Directors
Jan 2008 Meghan Miller, President
2009 - 2010 Susan Owen, Chair, Board of Directors
2009 Business operations restructured
2009 - 2014 Gail Strobel, Director of Business Affairs
2010 - 2011 David Carlson, Director of Education & Outreach
2011 - 2012 Bill Holt, Chair, Board of Directors
Nov 2011 Programmatic re-organization: Geodetic Infrastructure, Geodetic Data Services,
and Education and Community Engagement Programs formed
Nov 2011 - present Chuck Meertens, Director of Geodetic Data Services Program
Jun 2012 - present Glen Mattioli, Director of Geodetic Infrastructure Program
Jul 2012 - present Donna Charlevoix, Director of Education and Community Engagement Program
Aug 2012 - present Linda Rowan, Director of External Affairs
2012 - 2013 Carol Raymond, Chair, Board of Directors
1 Oct 2013 Programs supporting the UNAVCO Facility and Plate Boundary Observatory become
the GAGE (Geodesy Advancing Geosciences and EarthScope) Facility
2014 - 2015 Pete La Femina, Chair, Board of Directors
2014 - 2015 Brandy Reinke, Director of Business Affairs
Apr 2015 - present Stephen Ettinger, Director of Business Affairs
2016 Rowena Lohman, Chair, Board of Directors
2017 - 2018 Jeff Freymueller, Chair, Board of Directors
1 Oct 2018 Renewed Cooperative Agreement with the National Science Foundation and NASA, Geodetic Facility for the Advancement of Geoscience (GAGE)
2019 - present Lucy Flesch, Chair, Board of Directors
Sep 2019 - Feb 2020 Chuck Meertens, Interim President
Feb 2020 - present Rebecca Bendick, President

See also:
List of past Steering Committee/Board of Directors members


Last modified: 2020-03-06  16:23:57  America/Denver